A Sense of Belonging

Mexican Horse Thief-Amanzimtoti8

According to the head mechanics, a sense of belonging is a human need, just like the need for food and shelter. Some find belonging in a church, some with friends, some with family, and some on Facebook or other social media. Some see themselves as connected only to one or two people. Others believe and feel a connection to all people the world over, to humanity. Some struggle to find a sense of belonging and their loneliness is physically painful for them. a single instance of being excluded can undermine self-control and well being and often creates pain and conflict.

My Strange Classrooms advocate that I “belong” too. Hell, I clearly remember telling the first chap that spoke to me in the AA, he told me that in order to get well I had to do certain things and join the human race. My reply was, “I don’t know about that, I have looked at the human race and found them lacking. I DO NOT want to sign up with them.” To this day my Facebook profile under About reads:

I am not aligned or affiliated to any organization, government, club, group, movement or facility. Religious, political or any thing else. I have always and will always be on my own mission!
Fully Section Eight.
Although I may travel along a path with people on occasion.

Part of that I got by reading the Twelve Traditions of the AA, I am sure the guys that wrote it never thought that it would be and inspiration for a personal philosophy.

The sense of belonging has come up recently in the Rooms again, perhaps I shall re-evaluate my stance on this matter.

Nosce te ipsum

View the Mexican Horse Thief’s Page

Short Story

THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF I – ANGOLA

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

