Strange Classrooms, Sheep and Religion

Mexican Horse Thief-Amanzimtoti22

One of the things that I did not like about the religion of my father was the reference of sheep, even as a small boy I did NOT want to be a damn sheep, no matter what Jesus had to say about it. This may have been the start of the trouble between my father and I.  He saw that being a sheep was a good thing, and I thought along the lines of “lamb to the slaughter.” In the past few years the word “Sheeple” has immerged, and that small boy feels vindicated!

Now attending Strange Classrooms, I want to learn, I have to learn, but the same problems pops up in just about every bloody place I go to learn.  First there comes the dogma and then the group’s insistence of becoming like a sheep, of a flavour of the groups choosing.  Although Alcoholics Anonymous hard core supporters will deny this, a bit of digging can prove it. All the ideas they use came from the Bible.  The two founding members, Bill W and Dr. Bob as they are known, got the core material from the Oxford Group. (Basically a Papist type of Sect) I sit in the meetings listening to some “old timer” sprouting off how wonderful this Bill W was, and that he wrote the 12 Steps, now used in EVERY rehabilitation group invented, in one night, a miracle.  Understand this; I know that the AA is the most successful means to date of getting alcoholics on the wagon, and KEEPING them there. In my own experience I know, don’t attend meetings regularly, say at least once a week, then I end up going on my drinking missions.  Catch 22. I refuse to be a sheep but have to belong to this group.  The AA was my stepping stone and the cause of my quest and the reason I attend all the other Strange Classrooms.

A few things that the AA does enables a compromise to be found, one is that it advocates keeping an open mind and second it does try and keep religion out of it.  By the way, the AA taught me about compromise.

So, in order to remain of sound mind and sober judgement I attend these meetings, and learn an awful lot.  But from the beginning there are two, what are considered vital steps in the AA, that I refuse point blank to do.

One, the last part of Step 5.

“Admitted to God, to ourselves, and to another human being the exact nature of our wrongs.”

I do not trust any human being on this planet enough to complete this Step.

The second is I refuse point blank to get the “sponsor” that they advocate is vital to recovery. Again, it is a matter of trust.

The last thing is, in order to fit in, I have to accept I will have to accept the hardcore, a meeting a day type members, will try make me into a sheep.

When they corner me with their dogmatic speech and narrow views, I must NOT argue with them.

Here the Serenity Prayer helps a lot; I just repeat it incessantly while they carry on. I smile.

God grant me the Serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change what I can, and the wisdom to know the difference!

View the Mexican Horse Thief’s Page

Short Story

THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF I – ANGOLA

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

