In Pursuit of Happiness

Mexican Horse Thief-Amanzimtoti9

There a few reasons why I choose to attend not just one Strange Classroom, but many different ones. The main one being is I never seem to agree with ALL of their teachings and the second is if there is one thing I hate, it is dogma.  Unfortunately, as much as they deny it, every single formal Strange Classroom I attend has a lot of dogma involved. As you know, people lie to themselves, and here they just do it as a group, the clever people talk about a group consciousness, but that is another topic altogether.

Bill Wilson, founder of Alcoholics Anonymous said, “I don’t think happiness or unhappiness is the point. How do we meet the problems we face? How do we best learn from them and transmit what we have learned to others, if they would receive the knowledge? “

Now in the AA, what Bill said is considered Gospel, he has been canonised by most of the serious members of the AA.  This causes both of the above problems for me. Also why bother to do all the work it takes to get sober if one does not obtain happiness with it?

Now I do not chase happiness myself, I tell myself I am looking for this one thing called serenity, but just realized that my thinking was flawed. It was right in my face but I choose to ignore this small fact, I now deem to be true: One cannot be serine without having a certain amount of happiness in the whole equation!

So, as is my nature I set out to define what happiness is and how one goes about finding it, at least some of the time.

Happiness is defined as:

Pleasure, joy, exhilaration, bliss, contentedness, delight, enjoyment, satisfaction, bliss, contentment. Happiness results from the possession or attainment of what one considers good.

Further reading tells me:

“Research shows that happiness is not the result of bouncing from one joy to the next; achieving happiness typically involves times of considerable discomfort.  Money is important to happiness, but only to a certain point. Money buys freedom from worry about the basics in life—housing, food, clothing. Genetic makeup, life circumstances, achievements, marital status, social relationships, even your neighbors—all influence how happy you are. Or can be.

 

So do individual ways of thinking and expressing feeling. Researchers estimate that much of happiness is under personal control. Regularly indulging in small pleasures (such as warm baths!), getting absorbed in challenging activities, setting and meeting goals, maintaining close social ties, and finding purpose beyond oneself are all actions that increase life satisfaction.”

Psychology Today

 

As Jung is considered the, or rather one, of the founding fathers of modern psychology, (Sigmund was a very sick puppy) it would be wise to see what his thoughts were on this matter.

In 1960, journalist Gordon Young asked Jung, “What do you consider to be more or less basic factors making for happiness in the human mind?”

Jung answered with the five following elements.

  1. Good physical and mental health.

 

  1. Good personal and intimate relationships, such as those of marriage, the family, and friendships.

 

  1. The faculty for perceiving beauty in art and nature.

 

  1. Reasonable standards of living and satisfactory work.

 

  1. A philosophic or religious point of view capable of coping successfully with the vicissitudes of life.

 

I have found that it is always a good idea to begin at the beginning, and, I do believe my research and actions taken from my Strange Classrooms will help with the first step.

Step two I shall have to do a lot of work on, maybe I should find a Cat of my own?  (I smile)

Three I have down pat, and funny enough one of the times I find myself happy is when I have my camera in my had, capturing something beautiful, usually in nature.

Four is a problem at present, will have to correct that somehow.

Five is an ongoing mission and will be so till the day I die.

 

Conclusion:

Happiness is a choice but takes quite some effort to obtain.

You cannot be happy 100% of the time.

 

View the Mexican Horse Thief’s Page

A Short Story by Wayne Bisset – eBook

THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF I – ANGOLA

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

