Rules of Engagement

Returning from the wars, long ago, seeking a new, better way to live; I began searching and ended up in some Strange Classrooms. The one thing I wanted to change was my aggressive ways. To this end I was too successful, and my quest for a peaceful life was doomed to fail. I may have wanted to be kind and gentle but on a whole the rest of the world did not. Many took my quiet politeness for weakness and gave me a lot of trouble, thinking I was a soft target. This made me confused and unhappy.

My Strange Classrooms ALL told me to turn the other cheek, and be NICE, but I was getting hurt! I was told my defects of character were my instincts gone haywire, so my Warrior Blood was a huge problem.  For about a year I took all and every bit of shit that came my way, then decided to find a balance on this NICE GUY shit. I read a lot of books about setting boundaries; I tried the suggestions, with some people it worked. I asked to be left in peace but few listen, I warn gently and even fewer take me seriously, I come right out and say that they are fucking with something they do not understand, they laugh at me.

After much deliberation I came up with a solution that worked for me, allowing me to still strive for a peaceful life in the suggested ways but also to protect myself. I penned my own Rules of Engagement,  after all the polite ways had failed. The onus is on me to decide when  enough is enough, and the peaceful Gypsy must step aside for the Warrior in me to come forth.  For that I am responsible.

The rules are pretty simple, once the line is crossed, my antagonist sets the rules. So if they are civil, I am even more civil. If they are abusive I am more abusive.  If they want to use terrorist tactics, I will use even more terrifying tactics and so on. I still have a bit of a handicap as I cannot break some of my own personal rules, but that is a small problem, not insurmountable. For example, if they lie to hurt me, I will not make up lies to fight back with. Funny enough this seems to be true 100% of the time.

” I can damage you more with the truth about you, than you can damage me with a lie.”

If my enemy will not respect me, I shall do my damnedest to make him fear me, no matter what that takes.  I was an A student in my Other Strange Classrooms but fail on the nice guy one.

Or do I?

A compilation of my Strange Classrooms is soon to be released, please “Like” and  keep an eye on this page.

THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF

Here is a story of developing and breaking an addiction, while dealing with Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome at the same time.

THE CHRONICLES OF THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF II

 

Mex ad

Save

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Rules of Engagement”

  1. Strange Classrooms – Toxic Relationships | One Man's Opinion Blog Says:

    […] The views gained from leading an interesting life. The Pages explain how and why the unique views are formed. « Other Strange Classrooms – Rules of Engagement […]

  2. Let’s get this terrorist thing clear. | One Man's Opinion Blog Says:

    […] Rules of Engagement apply. […]

  3. Wayne Bisset Says:

    Reblogged this on Section Eight Solutions.

  4. Dangerous Encounters – Rules of Engagement | The Mexican Horse Thief Says:

    […] this man, nearly twenty years my junior,  cannot keep her, why not?  I add this thought to my “Rules of Engagement”  […]

  5. Judge not Lest thy be Judged | The Mexican Horse Thief Says:

    […] The way I tend to look at it is, I judge people on their habitual actions and treat them accordingly. That is explained in Rules of Engagement. […]

  6. Gossip, Slander and False Witness | One Man's Opinion Says:

    […] My RULES OF ENGAGEMENT […]

  7. Chronicles V – Kempton Park | Section Eight Solutions Says:

    […] My RULES OF ENGAGEMENT […]

Leave a Reply

