Balancing Anger

One of the things growing up in a cult religion taught me, the exact opposite of what the Jehovah’s Witnesses wished, was never to follow blindly. Or accept another person or person’s interpretation of anything without checking up on it first. Most of us are pretty lazy and if we bother to question something we read up a bit on it and then choose the information/answer that suite us best. Very little thought process goes into this, we fool ourselves that we are thinking, but are not.  At best one can get a slightly broader view by practicing this method, at worst just fall into another person’s way of thinking. You get the Jehovah’s Witness that think they have accomplished much by breaking away from the cult, but then just fall into the same trap and believe everything someone else, Joyce Meyer for example.  She is very good at convincing people she has all the answers, and she does write very inspirational stuff. Her money making and intolerance are a bit worrisome though.

Which brings me to the subject of anger.

In most of my Strange Classrooms any and all anger is frowned upon by the bulk of the people attending. Depending which Classroom they believe is it is downright evil and sent from the Devil. In others the belief is if members get angry they will fail in their mission, the  very reason they attend the Class in the first place. Both are wrong. Not because I say so, but by their own rules and literature.   If they believe either they are following an opinion, which has grown within in their own organization, spread by the lazy people!

Of this Joyce Meyer has done a little research and has written.

“Is all anger sin? No, but some of it is. Even God Himself has righteous anger against sin, injustice, rebellion and pettiness. Anger sometimes serves a useful purpose, so it isn’t necessarily always a sin. Obviously, we’re going to have adverse feelings, or God wouldn’t have needed to provide the fruit of self-control. Just being tempted to do something is not sin. It’s when you don’t resist the temptation, but do it anyway, that it becomes sin. We must guard against allowing anger to drag us into sin.”

I always remember that Jesus got pretty peeved and literally threw the money making chaps out of His Father’s house. With all the selling going on in Joyce and her elk’s churches, I think they are in shit! So by acting on His anger, and not showing self control, did the perfect Man, called Jesus, commit a sin?

Of the other lot say, “Anger, that occasional luxury of more balanced people, could keep us on an emotional jag indefinitely.” It goes on to give some very good advice and practical ways to deal with anger. I know that they work and transformed me greatly, from an angry at everything type of person to one that takes a very, very long time to get angry, about most things, but not all. To suppress all anger, completely, and feel guilty if you fail? I cannot ascribe to this philosophy at all. Anger is an integral part of both man and animals makeup. It serves a vital purpose pertaining to our very survival, to remove it is … dangerous?

Another man, Dr. Les Carter has an interesting take on the subject.

“There are plenty of circumstances when anger can be quite appropriate. But as is the case with many qualities that can begin as good, anger can quickly get out of hand and lead to negative expressions. To get an idea if your anger is appropriate or not, ask yourself the following questions:

 Am I respectful toward others when I communicate my anger?
 Do I choose to expend my angry energy on issues that really matter?
 Do I allow others the time to carefully think about the matters I am addressing?
 When communicating my anger, do I make room for the fact that others have different perspectives?
 Do I know when to cease when it is clear that I have expressed myself fully?
 Is the goal of my anger enlightenment as opposed to control?

Your anger can be managed in constructive ways, but first you need to be certain that it is being handled with maturity and dignity.”

Personally I am quite happy about the fact that I have some extreme anger in me, if I were not angry I would not try doing a single thing about either the slaughter of our rhino or our farmers. If it were not for anger I believe that there would be no movement against all types of injustice and wrongs in the world. It is as Dr. Carter says; just use it with forethought and with discretion. Like it or not, it would seem that most people that set out to write a wrongs/injustice were driven by and only started to act because of anger. Or even self improvement, for that matter.

The ONLY reason I started going to my Strange Classrooms was because of anger, …..at myself.

A compilation of my Strange Classrooms is soon to be released, please “Like” and  keep an eye on this page.

THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF

Here is a story of developing and breaking an addiction, while dealing with Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome at the same time.

THE CHRONICLES OF THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF II

 

Mex ad

 

Save

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Balancing Anger”

  1. Wayne Bisset Says:

    Reblogged this on Section Eight Solutions.

Leave a Reply

