Good Intentions

“All the good intentions in the world are worth less than one kindly act.”

Someone on a thread of mine defended a terrorist, by saying, “but he had good intentions.”  So I thought about this for a while and what experience I have had with my own intentions. Personally I use to have a lot of good intentions and very few bad ones, believe it or not. I never woke up in the morning with this type of intention.

Today I will go to work, rush through all I have to do, leave early and go to the pub. Then get into a fight, maybe crash my car, get arrested, leave my wife stranded at work wondering where I am. Then when released from the holding cells go straight back to the pub and carry on drinking for the next few days or until I get arrested for something or other again.

More likely I woke up thinking,

Today I will go to work, do the things that need doing and leave a bit early. On the way home I will buy some nice goodies, cook a nice meal, set the dining room table with candles and all. Pick my wife up on time and surprise her with a romantic dinner.

What I intended happened far less frequently than what I did not intend. I really could not understand why this was and always, when in trouble, tried to salvage things by saying, “But I intended to…..” Firstly I learned that intended cuts no ice, and then in my Strange Classrooms learned how to turn intentions in to actions.

Intentions, like faith without works, are worthless. No, worse than worthless, they consume valuable time; give you a false sense of  having DONE something. They are more likely to prevent one from actually doing something than inspire one to action. The ideal partner for this thing called procrastination.

 

A compilation of my Strange Classrooms is soon to be released, please “Like” and  keep an eye on this page.

THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF

Here is a story of developing and breaking an addiction, while dealing with Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome at the same time.

THE CHRONICLES OF THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF II

 

Mex ad

Save

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Good Intentions”

  1. Wayne Bisset Says:

    Reblogged this on Section Eight Solutions.

Leave a Reply

