Serenity

serenityLong ago I was forced to embark on a mission, that of sobriety. I shall not bore with the details here, of why, trust me, I had no choice. In a fellowship that comes the closest to the axiom of “thy shall not judge”; I was never the less, voted least likely to succeed by my group. With good reason, as at first I would arrive at my Strange Classroom drunk more often than not. Argumentative and very aggressive, but I listened too, so slowly, slowly, I achieved my goal.

While on that mission I found another, perhaps even more important goal. I heard the word and the implications of this thing called SERENITY. This concept was foreign to me but it intrigued me. My sobriety mission was going well, I had not had a drink for more than a year and I set out to find this thing called serenity with the usual passion, as is in my nature. I attended many more of my Strange Classrooms on this quest. These pointed me at other Classrooms, ranging from philosophy to psychology to the spiritual. My teaches were as diverse as the subjects from Gypsy types to Professors to Spiritual Masters.

Serenity was so illusive and over the next couple of years, while I never captured it; I had a fleeting glimpse of it at times. Then I began to have moments of Serenity, the moments became, minutes, the minutes, hours. Eventually I had days where I felt serine and sort of happy. I wrote a short story about this, believing that my life would stay this way, The Chronicles of the Mexican Horse Thief – II.

But

Somewhere, somehow the lines got blurred along the way and I began equating serenity with financial success, physical comfort and pleasure, and a few other arcane things. While I gained them all I lost even the fleeting glimpses of true serenity…. and my sobriety to boot. With the lose of sobriety came the lose of financial success and all the benefits thereof. I tried to go back to my original Strange Classroom, but found no joy, and also no lasting sobriety. This lead to me going on a rather long quest; looking for what I do not know, but along the way I have attended even stranger classrooms and had even more diverse teachers. I wrote a few more Chronicles about this too. Some people “get” what I am trying to convey, while others have nothing but contempt for me.

 

After 7 years, just recently, I caught a fleeting glimpse of Serenity, so know it is still out there.  And now have some more Chronicles in my head that I will put down one day; when I have found some serenity, as everyone loves a happy ending.

A compilation of my Strange Classrooms is soon to be released, please “Like” and  keep an eye on this page.

THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF

Here is a story of developing and breaking an addiction, while dealing with Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome at the same time.

THE CHRONICLES OF THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF II

 

Mex ad

Save

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Serenity”

  1. Wayne Bisset Says:

    Reblogged this on Section Eight Solutions.

Leave a Reply

