Malaria Prevention

the-mexican-horse-thief-poison

I read what that anti malaria stuff they gave me can do to a person. Who reads that little pamphlet in medicine boxes anyhow?  A while back I went with my Doctor friend and two of his colleagues  to the Kruger Nation Park. He insisted I take a tablet, within an hour I was sick, sick, sick. Vomiting and weak. I had to lie down for a whole afternoon! Then I read the pamphlet.

Let us start with the WARNINGS:

Mefloquine may cause psychiatric symptoms in some patients, (Oh, oh, never knew I was a patient!) ranging from anxiety, paranoia and depression to more serious, (That is not serious enough!?) hallucinations and psychotic behavior. (I sort of get the latter all by myself, but only occasionally.)  Rare cases of suicide have been reported.

Moving along… let us see what SIDE-EFFECTS are listed.

Dizziness or disturbed sense of balance, nausea, vomiting and diarrhoea,  abdominal pain and loss of appetite.

Headache, somnolence and sleep disorders ie insomnia, abnormal dreams, myalgia (WTF is that!?) feeling of weakness, visual disturbances, palpitations, bradycardia, (think that means it f*^ks up your heart?) irregular pulse, hair loss, rash, convultions, psychological changes, leucpoenia and decrease of platelets. (The last two I think, due to my interest in snake venom, mean your blood goes wonky and won’t clot.)

They go on for another paragraph about the psychiatric reactions, it is not pretty!

My conclusion on this is:

Why not go get some badly cut LSD, mix in a bit of PCP (Angel Dust) a line of cocaine and get bitten by both a Boomslang (venom attacks the blood) and a Cobra ( venom takes out the nervous system) after snorting or smoking the chemicals?

And these okes think I am crazy to take my chances with the mozzies?

From THE CHRONICLES OF THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF

https://www.facebook.com/mexicanhorsethief/?fref=ts

Save

Save

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Malaria Prevention”

  1. isis Says:

    umm strang they still put small amounts of Quinine in tonic water and I read somewhere that’s an ingrediant in Malaria pills!

  2. David Mayo Says:

    The American Centers for Disease Control (CDC) offers the most complete and useful information specific to this topic, including all recommended primary chemoprophylaxis regimens, including the one you took, which has a Red Letter warning due to its dangers. This is the link: http://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/yellowbook/2012/chapter-3-infectious-diseases-related-to-travel/malaria.htm

  3. Mike Says:

    Know exactly what you’re talking about. I took the bloody stuff on a trip back to Kenya in 2003. I collapsed at Nairobi airport with convulsions. Doctors put it down to Lariam tablets (Mefloquine) and said they have had no end of problems with tourists being given the stuff and then getting really ill when out in the national parks and having to be flown into hospital in Nairobi.

    Many people now take their chances using mozzie repellant stuff and if they get malaria get it treated. Doctors prefer that as there are so many drug resistant forms of malaria going around.

Leave a Reply

