Conditional Love/Friendship/Brotherhood

The first time I noticed this phenomena was in the Jehovah’s Witness organization. My earliest Strange Classrooms were here. They call each other Brother/Sister and advocate that one should love ones Brother as ones self, which in itself is very nice. BUT. There are very strict and ludicrous rules that a Brother/Sister has to follow in order to get this love. If the rules are not followed they cut you off completely. For instance. My mothers friend/Sister of 18 years never spoke to her again after my mother decided to put a cigarette in her mouth. Needless to say the Jehovah’s Witness friends I grew up with did the same to me when I decided to do my National Service. As did my own father, the Elder Brother Bisset. My very first experience of a Brotherhood was not a good one, although I did learn a lot.

Over the years because of my unusual character and Gypsy ways I see this often. In Alcoholics Anonymous I stayed sober for 7 years. Attending a meeting each week I made a few friends, we went camping in the bush together and visited each others houses. Friends. When I decided that staying sober 24/7 and following all the principles of the organization was fucking boring and took a drink (a fine whiskey) I lost 98% of those friends and my rather pretty, recovering alcoholic, girlfriend that had been living with me for a couple of years.

The other way to lose friends is get in a bit of trouble. Oops, I do this every now and then. The saying, “When days are dark, friends are few.” is very accurate. People that have the means to help you either disappear or put conditions on the help they offer.

The good news is in times like these you find out exactly who your true friends are and tend to make new better friends.  People that you have not seen for more than 20 years hear of your trouble and step up to bat for you. Soldiers you fought alongside as a boy soldier so many years ago and those that fought alongside you more recently. Soldiers you have never met even go out of their way to help in whatever way they can, even the ones that are in the same predicament as you. This is a true Brotherhood. These people give you the courage and the will to continue to fight on.

 

A compilation of my Strange Classrooms is soon to be released, please “Like” and  keep an eye on this page.

THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF

Here is a story of developing and breaking an addiction, while dealing with Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome at the same time.

THE CHRONICLES OF THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF II

 

Mex ad

Save

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Conditional Love/Friendship/Brotherhood”

  1. Nico Says:

    Thanks Wayne.
    Your salute is reciprocated. We know who we are.

  2. Andre Says:

    Thanks Boet, we are hear for you and always will be, you know all you need to do is say so.

  3. Wayne Bisset Says:

    Reblogged this on Section Eight Solutions.

Leave a Reply

