Instant Gratification

instant-gratification1

I first heard these words, a long time ago, ………….. in one of my Strange Classrooms.

Instant gratification.

They were spoken by a recovering drug addict trying to explain how the drugs had entrapped him. The point being his  life is quite difficult and by taking the drug of his choice he instantly got him to a mellow place, at first, but we all know how the addiction escalates and gets twisted.  Over the years I looked into this problem, at first I tried to get to my mellow point and then stop drinking, this never happened, I only stop when the booze runs out. From tense and sober, to tipsy and mellow…… then a fast track to psychotic, and blackout. I tried the changing of alcohol brands, no good. I changed my choice of drug, alcohol for cocaine or anything I could get my hands on. Didn’t work, my body does not like any drug except alcohol. Eventually the only path left was sobriety. Problem is the mind is still set on instant gratification.

While trying to solve this little problem I looked about. I was surprised to see that MOST people have this shit in modern society. We have been programmed for it. Why do I say that? Think about it. One of the best examples is the microwave;  we can cook a hundred times fasted than the conventional way, instant gratification. Then we can communicate anywhere anytime, instantly. I could fill a page on the things we have to help get instant gratification, remote everything. Ever noticed how upset people get when the remote for the gate does not work, and heaven forbid, they have to actually manually open it?

Now that we are so set in our material/physical ways, our little brain decides it really likes this shit then tries to get instant intangibles. Instant perfect: job, relationship, sex, etc. With no real effort at all, just push the button man! Any intelligent person knows, deep down this cannot work, but like the druggie/alky, by God, they seem to try. I suppose that this may one reason why we have such a titanic increase in broken relationships and substance addiction?

I am still pondering this problem…

 

A compilation of my Strange Classrooms is soon to be released, please “Like” and  keep an eye on this page.

THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF

Here is a story of developing and breaking an addiction, while dealing with Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome at the same time.

THE CHRONICLES OF THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF II

 

Mex ad

Save

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Instant Gratification”

  1. Wayne Bisset Says:

    Reblogged this on Section Eight Solutions.

Leave a Reply

