Self-Discipline

I wonder how many times in my drinking career I was accused of lacking self-discipline?

It used to piss me off no end! The fact that lack of self or imposed discipline has absolutely nothing to do with being an alcoholic or addict is totally lost on many people. It is also a huge contributor of keeping people in their addiction. How? They continue to try use self-discipline to control the sickness and this amounts to naught. No, worse, it adds to their despair and low self-worth and a lot of the time causes them to drink even more.

So, thanks to all the people that use these words to alcoholics and addict; “You must pull yourself together, you have no self-discipline!”  I do not wish you well. I believed them for many years.

Then…. I got sober for long enough to look about! By God, drunk I had more self-discipline than any of them! How can I say this? Well, let’s take it from the start of the day, I was always up before any women I have lived with, hung over or not, I never missed work for many years, until the progress disease got really bad. I often ironed my partners work clothes, as she was late, oversleeping, and did not have the discipline to do it the night before. Ironically the alcoholism made me more self-disciplined than I was already, my stuff was always sorted out, I had to, because I knew the blackout would be coming.

Once sober my self-discipline is mocked and ridiculed by the very same type of person that would lecture an alcoholic or addict about the same lack of! One of my favorite quotes comes to mind.

“What people do and say is a reflection of them.

What I say or do is a reflection of me.”

Think about this:

For the last few years, living like a Gypsy, most of what I have done, other than actual survival, has been purely self-motivated with self-discipline. My getting off the booze each time I slipped,………. took something else.

Nowadays I watch people, as is my habit, and what I see is not flattering. Most have a fear and/or greed based discipline and very little if any self-discipline at all.

As always just One Man’s Opinion.

A compilation of my Strange Classrooms is soon to be released, please “Like” and  keep an eye on this page.

THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF

Here is a story of developing and breaking an addiction, while dealing with Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome at the same time.

THE CHRONICLES OF THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF II

 

Mex ad

Save

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Self-Discipline”

  1. karen Says:

    There is a somewhat fainter message deep within your words which many can do with inclining their ear.

    I enjoy these posts and the One man’s space makes for a sound board for the many.

    I grew up being pretty much self disciplined, self propelled and self driven. Words born into without questioning or doubting their value for our human existence.

    Your experiences highlight a kind of mind set which is prominent in many. People have a strong idea of what self-discipline looks like. These ideas however are tightly wound around something else, something more sinister – a machine for human labour.

    I’ll post this thought…and will be back to talk some more 🙂

    I’d like to consider what it is to be human!?

  2. Andrej Says:

    Well i think there is actually a connection between self discipline and ability to delay gratification.

    Though in case of alcholism, I’m not sure the same applies if you are an addict.

  3. Wayne Bisset Says:

    Reblogged this on Section Eight Solutions.

Leave a Reply

