The Multitasking Myth

An observation: People brag about the fact that they can multitask – those same people complain in a drop of standards in the workplace, service industry, well, every where. I have taken criticism that I seem not to be able to multitask very well. I tend to become highly focused on something when I attempt to do it well. I get pissed off when I am interrupted at these times. The more interruptions the less happy I am with the result of what ever I am doing, thus I tend to get up early and while the world sleeps do what I have to do. I find that the results are 100% better, whether it is writing, working on SEO or just cleaning my kitchen!

I gave this some thought and when the subject came up used the example of a sniper for a friend of mine. This job takes high concentration; you won’t find a successful sniper taking a few seconds off to shoot off a message on his Blackberry, while working. FFS! My viewpoint on the subject was ridiculed by one and all. I am a little “bosbevok”, unskilled at life and a few other not very complimentary things have been said.

However I stubbornly maintain:

Multitasking = a lot of jobs done poorly.

If a job is worth doing, do it properly seems not to be the vogue in this modern society I dislike so much. This all makes perfect sense to me, but don’t take my opinion as fact.

Human multitasking – The ability of a person to perform more than one task at the same time.

“Doing too many things at once reduces efficiency, accuracy, and creativity. Based on over a half-century of cognitive science and more recent studies on multitasking, we know that multitaskers do less and miss information. It takes time (an average of 15 minutes) to re-orient to a primary task after a distraction such as an email. Efficiency can drop by as much as 40%. Long-term memory suffers and creativity—a skill associated with keeping in mind multiple, less common, associations—is reduced.”
Paul Atchley, Ph.D. is an associate professor of Cognitive Psychology at the University of Kansas.

I rest my case.

 

A compilation of my Strange Classrooms is soon to be released, please “Like” and  keep an eye on this page.

THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF

Here is a story of developing and breaking an addiction, while dealing with Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome at the same time.

THE CHRONICLES OF THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF II

 

Mex ad

 

 

 

 

Save

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The Multitasking Myth”

  1. karen Says:

    Bold!!!

    Thanks for post.

    Cannot hear it enough 🙂

  2. Wayne Bisset Says:

    Reblogged this on Section Eight Solutions.

Leave a Reply

