An Autistic Routine

a-the-mexican-horse-thief-butterfly-11

Papillion

Years back when I was living in Fish Hoek, I was sitting having what I have come to think of as my “regmaker”morning beer…. I really did not want to go through full withdrawal symptoms right then. I saw this man and his mother at The Excalibur, he is autistic. His mother seems the only one able to communicate with him on some level. His mother and he come here still. All those years back him and I just seemed to “click”. He remembered me! I know because after smiling at me he asked his mother to buy me a beer……

He gave me another beatific smile, a thumbs up and then disappeared into his own world again. He sits with a Coke can on the table in front of him, then he jerks around to stare at the TV for a few moments, his head then jerks back and he concentrates on the coke can. He touches the can’s rim, brings his fingers to his face, it looks like he smells something. Sometimes he tells his hand something. That is his standard routine. He also has a ball of loose pieces of string. He picks it up every so often. I take a Japanese coin a tourist once gave me, I ask him for a piece of string, he looks at his mother, she nods. I take the coin and thread it on his string, tying a knot. He beams at me, but once he gets the string back he is not so happy. This object does not belong with his string. He laboriously unties it. Then back to his routine.

A little later his mother asks if I would mind watching him while she goes to the shops. Of course. I sit with him while his mother gets groceries, we say nothing, but every now and then he breaks his routine to smile at me.

The trust his mother put in me and the fact of his acknowledging me, they make me a richer man than any I know.

 

Of Interest

Please do check out my page and if you decide to “like” it, I shall be well pleased.

The Mexican Horse Thief

Get quality backlinks. The Gravy Train 

Niume seems to be the best microblogging platform available at present, why not give them a try?

Short Story.

The Chronicles of the Mexican Horse Thief I – Angola

Save

Save

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “An Autistic Routine”

  1. karen Says:

    brilliant red on fence!!!

    “Some people are still unaware that reality contains unparalleled beauties. The fantastic and unexpected, the ever-changing and renewing is nowhere so exemplified as in real life itself.”

    Berenice Abbott

    ……………………………………………………………………………………………

    “Everybody has a secret world inside of them. All of the people of the world, I mean everybody. No matter how dull and boring they are on the outside, inside them they’ve all got unimaginable, magnificent, wonderful, stupid, amazing worlds. Not just one world. Hundreds of them. Thousands maybe.”

    Neil Gaiman

    ……………………………………………………………………………………………

Leave a Reply

