Voyeurism and Social Media

So here is a real can of worms. If one is accused of voyeurism, it is not a complement! Lets try be polite and use the second definition of the word listed in  Wikipedia

Voyeurism (from the French voyeur, “one who looks”) can take several forms, but its principle characteristic is that the voyeur does not normally relate directly with the subject of their interest, who is often unaware of being observed. The voyeur may observe the subject from a distance, or use stealth to observe the subject with the use of peep-holes, two-way mirrors, hidden cameras, secret photography and other devices and strategies.

Still not pretty is it. Social media has opened a whole new window to this, and falls neatly under the other devices mentioned above. While doing my research on this medium I have noticed a few people  that requested friendship, as I had NO friends on facebook so I happily clicked the accept button every time. Then I saw that a percentage never, ever posted anything, a status update even. Only time I saw them is when they gained more friends or joined yet another group. So I first wrote something on their wall, no reply or acknowledgment. Not giving up I sent a mail, just saying, “Hello, you do not say much do you?”

That got two replies. The others do not de-friend me but keep watching.

Strange bunch. That coming from me is also definitely not a compliment. :}

myScoop

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Voyeurism and Social Media”

  1. Romany Thresher Says:

    I am generally very particular about who I accept and who I don’t. Of late I thought maybe I should change this way of mine because numbers at the end of the day speak volumes to people, oh he has XXX followers, he must be very important, interesting, etc. but people often neglect to take into account the type of followers are following and more often than not it is the very people you are speaking of. The ones who never reply, the ones who never post, the ones who lurk quietly in the background.

    I know that the people I have added to my networks are people of value, so the fine line is, do I use numbers to make the impression or do I continue to build a valuable network. I’m still leaning toward the valuable network.

    Romany

  2. Kirpus Says:

    Strange bunch indeed.
    Let me add a little erh… “confusion” to that statement.

    Once in a while I have had people commenting on my posts in public, in a ridiculing tone and right there I feel blindsided, since I had no idea that they actually spend time following social media.
    I don’t see no other choice but to block them as followers or delete them as friends, since you always end up as the nerd with to much time on your hands for sharing online.

    Like Romany I have gone through the same observation and wondered whether it is normal to have xxx numbers of friends and simply use your Facebook as a phone book. But I have decided not to, because of the situations above.
    With Twitter you can check how many postings the person has contributed, before you befriend them. I can only wish that Facebook had the same feature.

    Voyeurs, peeping toms and stalkers.

  3. karen Says:

    I love Romany’s voice in these lines! (see comment by Romany Thresher above)

    ‘I know that the people I have added to my networks are people of value, so the fine line is, do I use numbers to make the impression or do I continue to build a valuable network. I’m still leaning toward the valuable network.’

    THAT ECHOS & LINGERS FOR ME…

    ‘I’M STILL LEANING TOWARD THE VALUABLE NETWORK’

    Romany, I second that! again!

Leave a Reply

